Return to the main menu
To begin and improve the 5 balls


The 5 balls (more precisely the cascade with 5) is an important stage in the large trip of juggles. Any juggler who tests himself there is obligatorily a accro, for even if it is a banal figure, it is far from being easy and asks much practice to be held during at least a hundred throws. The cascade with 5 is easy to understand, it is as with 3 but higher and/or more rapid (easy to tell)

I will try to give you the essential elements to acquire and improve this figure.

Although advised, it is not necessary to know to juggle to 4 to test itself to 5; for contrary to the 5, in the 4 throws (of fountain type) do not cross.


Stage 1    Stage 2    Stage 3   Stage 4   Stage 5


Stage 1 : 3 basic years with 3 balls

Before emmeller with 5 balls, one can carry out certain figures with 3 balls which imposes the rate/rhythm, the amplitude of the 5 balls.

Animation
Web site
Some comments
 3333355500

33333: the cascade with 3
555: the flash
00: 2 empty hands

The 1st exercise is the flash 3 balls. One leaves on a traditional tempo of cascade 3 balls then suddenly one launches the 3 balls on a tempo of 5 (it is enough to launch them + high or more quickly), one finds 2 following times with the 2 empty hands. (It is necessary to know to do it on the 2 sides, hand right in 1st left DGD but also hand in 1st GDG)
 55500 (+ stop) Even exercise, but this time with a cold departure, this in order to start on the rate of 5 of input of play (+ difficult to feel that previously). This exercise is to be controlled on the 2 sides (right hand in first and also left hand in first). You can try to alternate " departure right-hand side " and " left departure " as animation shows it.
55500 (without stop) Exercise much more difficult to control than the precedent, one alternates without stopping. Caution! this exercise is as hard as to juggle to 5, therefore if you do not arrive there, does not disturb you and passes to the continuation.

Stage 2 : two continuations

These two figures (one to 3 balls and the other to 4) based on the continuation, are of very good years to work the 5 bus they use throws of the type 5 balls. The " continuation " indicates that you will launch 2 or 3 times of continuation of the same hand, which forces to hold a rate of only one hand, without the assistance of the other (for example, for a " rate/rhythm by identical hand ", it is easier to type on a tom-tom with the 2 alternate hands than with 1 only).

Animation
To note!
Some comments
50505
it is one 5 or it misses 2 balls
Continuation 3 balls (also called " snake "): one starts 3 balls in his favorite hand then one launches quickly and high (on a rate of 5) towards the left. Caution! it is almost as hard as the 5 balls thus it is a exercise of conversation of the 5 balls more than one exercise of starting.
525
Left Left Right right-hand side and so on
Appear simpler than the preceding one ( although 4 balls). One starts 3 in his favorite hand and 1 in the other, then one launches 2 times of continuation of a hand then other.

Stage 3 : to test with 4 balls.

The preceding years (stage 1 and 2) are made to give you the rate/rhythm of the 5 balls without you being to obstruct by the number of balls

Animation
To note!
Some comments
Connect Droite Left Right Left and catches up with. 2 balls in each hand, you start as known you had 5. of them If that wedges, lance + high.

Stage 4 : Finally the 5th ball

If stage 3 (starting with 4 balls) does not pose a problem, you should arrive there for it is just a little higher.

Animation
To note!
Some comments
Does not go too quickly! it is to better compensate for a delay by a higher height (than by a rate/rhythm impossible to hold) Start 3 balls in your favorite hand and 2 in the autre.Vas there without reflecting too much, of the beginning does not think of catching up with, is satisfied to launch the 5 balls suffisament high. If you manage to catch up with, go ahead connects!!!

4 important consultings:
If you have problems of collision, draws aside a little more your arms.
If 2 balls arrives at the same time, lance always with the same height.
If you have the impression that the figure draws on a side, moves your body rather than to tighten an arm.
If you stress, tries to visualize the figure like a unit rather " living " than like a succession of balls.

Between juggling with 5 balls and holding the 5 balls without any stress, there is no badly work and of sweat. Do not discourage yourself, all the jugglers pass by there. The years which follow should help to improve you.

Stage 5 : To improve

In fact they are 4 years already seen partly in the preceding stages, but which it is wise to practise regularly to improve its 5 balls.

Animation
Web site
Some comments
 50505 Continuation 3 balls or " snake "; try to vary the height in order to control the rate/rhythm well.
 55500 (without stop) The alternate flash (you must have time to strike in your hands).
55550 (without stop) You juggle exactly as to 5, but it misses 1 ball, to connect when to 5 you miss one by them.
60
the throw is higher than that of the 5 balls
3 balls in only one hand is a very good exercise, theoretically harder than the 5 balls, (except for certain jugglers which carry it out before the 5). To make absolutely on the 2 sides! if not, one supports a side and it is not good whole.


 Good work !!!

(animations made with the excellent software JuggleAnim of Jack Boyce)




JugleAnim is a software (based on applets java) of generation and animation of figures of juggling, written by  Jack Boyce which is a researcher in physics of the university of Berkeley, impassioned juggling.


Return to the main menu

Retour au menu principal
Débuter et perfectionner le 5 balles


Le 5 balles (plus précisément la cascade à 5) est une étape importante dans le grand voyage de la jongle. Tout jongleur qui s'y essaye est obligatoirement un accro, car même si c'est une figure banale, elle est loin d'être aisée et demande beaucoup de pratique pour être tenue pendant au moins une centaine de lancers. La cascade à 5 est facile à comprendre, c'est comme à 3 mais plus haut et/ou plus rapide  (facile à dire...) .

Je vais essayer de te donner les éléments essentiels pour acquérir et perfectionner cette figure.

Bien que conseillé, il n'est pas nécessaire de savoir jongler à 4 pour s'essayer à 5; car contrairement au 5, dans le 4 les lancers (de type fontaine) ne se croisent pas.
 
 

Etape 1    Etape 2    Etape 3   Etape 4   Etape 5


Etape 1 : 3 exercices de base à 3 balles

Avant de s'emmeller avec 5 balles, on peut effectuer certaines figures à 3 balles qui impose le rythme, l'amplitude du 5 balles.

Animation
Site Swap
Quelques commentaires
 3333355500

33333: la cascade à 3
555: le flash
00: les 2 mains vides

Le 1er exercice est le flash 3 balles. On part sur un tempo de cascade 3 balles classique puis tout à coup on lance les 3 balles sur un tempo de 5 (il suffit de les lancer + haut ou plus vite), on se retrouve les 2 temps suivants avec les 2 mains vides. (Il faut savoir le faire des 2 côtés, main droite en 1er DGD mais aussi main gauche en 1er GDG)
 55500 (+ arrêt) Même exercice, mais cette fois avec un départ à froid, ceci afin de démarrer sur le rythme de 5 d'entrée de jeu (+ difficile à sentir que précédemment). Cet exercice est à maîtriser des 2 côtés (main droite en premier et aussi main gauche en premier). Tu peux essayer d'alterner "départ droite" et "départ gauche" comme le montre l'animation.
55500 (sans arrêt) Exercice beaucoup plus difficile à maîtriser que le précédent, on alterne sans s'arrêter. Attention !  cet exercice est aussi dur que de jongler à 5, donc si tu n'y arrives pas, t'affole pas et passe à la suite.
 

Etape 2 : deux poursuites

Ces deux figures (une à 3 balles et l'autre à 4) basées sur la poursuite, sont de très bon exercices pour travailler le 5 car elles utilisent des lancers de type 5 balles.  La "poursuite" indique que tu va lancer 2 ou 3 fois de suite de la même main, ce qui impose de tenir un rythme d'une seule main, sans l'aide de l'autre (par exemple, pour un "rythme par main" identique,  il est plus facile de taper sur un tam-tam avec les 2 mains alternées qu'avec 1 seule).

Animation
A noter !
Quelques commentaires
50505
c'est un 5 ou il manque 2 balles
La poursuite 3 balles (appelé aussi "serpent"): on démarre 3 balles dans sa main favorite puis on lance rapidement et haut (sur un rythme de 5) vers la gauche. Attention ! c'est presque aussi dur que le 5 balles donc c'est un exercice d'entretien du 5 balles plus qu'un exercice de démarrage.
525
Droite Droite Gauche Gauche et ainsi de suite
Figure plus simple que la précédente (bien que 4 balles). On démarre 3 dans sa main favorite et 1 dans l'autre, puis on lance 2 fois de suite d'une main puis de l'autre.
 
Etape 3 : essayer avec 4 balles.

Les exercices précédents (étape 1 et 2) sont faits pour te donner le rythme du 5 balles sans que tu sois gêner par le nombre de balles

Animation
A noter !
Quelques commentaires
Enchaîne Droite Gauche Droite Gauche et rattrape. 2 balles dans chaque main, tu démarres comme su tu en avais 5. Si ça coince, lance + haut.
 
Etape 4 : Enfin la 5ième balle

Si l'étape 3 (démarrage à 4 balles) ne te pose pas de problème, tu devrais y arriver car c'est juste un peu plus haut..
 

Animation
A noter !
Quelques commentaires
Ne va pas trop vite ! il vaut mieux compenser un retard par une hauteur plus élevée (que par un rythme impossible à tenir) Démarre 3 balles dans ta main favorite et 2 dans l'autre.Vas-y sans trop réfléchir, au début ne pense pas à rattraper, contente-toi de lancer les 5 balles suffisament haut. Si tu arrives à rattraper, vas-y enchaîne !!!

4 conseils importants:
Si tu as des problèmes de collision, écarte un peu plus tes bras.
Si 2 balles arrive en même temps, lance toujours à la même hauteur.
Si tu as l'impression que la figure tire d'un côté, déplace ton corps plutôt que de tendre un bras.
Si tu stresses, essaie de visualiser la figure comme un ensemble "vivant" plutôt que comme une succession de balles.
 

Entre jongler à 5 balles et tenir le 5 balles sans aucun stress, il y a pas mal de travail et de sueur. Ne te décourage pas, tous les jongleurs passent par là. Les exercices qui suivent devraient d'aider à te perfectionner.
 

Etape 5 : Se perfectionner

En fait ce sont 4 exercices déjà vus en partie dans les étapes précédentes, mais qu'il est bon de pratiquer régulièrement pour améliorer son 5 balles..
 

Animation
Site Swap
Quelques commentaires
 50505 La poursuite 3 balles ou "serpent"; essaie de varier la hauteur afin de bien maîtriser le rythme.
 55500 (sans arrêt) Le flash alterné (tu dois avoir le temps de frapper dans tes mains).
55550 (sans arrêt) Tu jongles exactement comme à 5, mais il manque 1 balle, à enchaîner lorsque à 5 tu en rates une.
60
le lancer est plus haut que celui du 5 balles
3 balles dans une seule main est un très bon exercice, théoriquement plus dur que le 5 balles,( sauf pour certains jongleurs qui le réalisent avant le 5). A faire absolument des 2 côtés ! sinon, on favorise un côté et c'est pas bon du tout.


 Bon courage !!!
 
 

(animations réalisées grâce à l'excellent logiciel JuggleAnim de Jack Boyce)









JugleAnim est un logiciel (à base d'applets java) de génération et d'animation de figures de jonglage, écrit par  Jack Boyce qui est un chercheur en physique de l'université de Berkeley, passionné de jonglage.
 
 
 

  Retour au menu principal